Sarah Goddard Power Award

Sarah Goddard Power Award: Recognizing the Status of Women Within the University of Michigan

Sarah Goddard Power was widely acclaimed as a major contributor to the advancement of higher education, an advocate for affirmative action and human rights, and a champion of freedom for the international press. As a Regent of the University of Michigan for more than 12 years, Sarah Goddard Power worked tirelessly to advance the position of women and minorities in faculty and administrative roles.

Regent Sarah Goddard Power originally suggested that the Academic Women's Caucus present awards to such individuals. In 1984, an Awards Committee was established to select the first recipients of the Academic Women's Caucus Awards. Thus, it seemed appropriate that the Academic Women's Caucus Award be renamed to honor Regent Power. In 1988, Regent Philip H. Power graciously consented to allow the Caucus to rename its awards the Academic Women's Caucus Sarah Goddard Power Award. In 1998, President Lee Bollinger enabled the Award to be offered with an accompanying stipend.

Each year, nominations are selected for the following awards:

 The Sarah Goddard Power Award

 The Sarah Goddard Power Distinguished Service Award

 The Honorary Sarah Goddard Power Award


Nominees for the Sarah Goddard Power Award will be judged according to the following criteria:

  • Affiliation with the University of Michigan (faculty including instructors, lecturers, primary researchers, librarians, and curators; and senior administrative staff)
  • Significant achievement in contributing to the betterment of women in one of the following areas:
    • Distinguished leadership 
    • Scholarship
    • Other activities related to their professional lives
  • All nominees must be available to attend the award ceremony scheduled for February 14, 2018, at the Michigan League.


Nominations for this year's award are due by November 10, 2017. Nominations must include the nomination form, nominee's CV, and no more than 3-5 letters of support. 

Complete the nomination form here.

Past Award Recipients