Emeritus Faculty Program

Emeritus faculty member wearing scrubs

The Medical School Emeritus Program is currently undergoing restructuring; if you have questions regarding the program, please contact the Office of Faculty Development at (734) 615-3101. 

The Medical School Emeritus Program offers opportunities for active medical school emeritus faculty to continue to participate in the Medical School mission. Emeritus faculty can participate in any or all of the opportunities organized by the emeritus program. The Medical School and Michigan Medicine can benefit from the experience, ability, and wisdom of the emeritus faculty. In turn, emeritus faculty have the opportunity to share their expertise in teaching and mentoring in the medical school, hospital, and research environment.

 The Medical School Emeritus Faculty Program was instituted by Senior Associate Dean Joseph Kolars and is supported by an Emeritus Faculty Steering Committee. The program is administratively housed in the Office of Faculty and Faculty Development, led by Senior Associate Dean Margaret Gyetko, MD and Sonya Jacobs, Director of Faculty and Leadership Development. 

Emeritus Faculty

There are over 250 Medical School Emeritus Faculty at the University of Michigan.  

Steering Committee

  • Robert Bartlett, M.D.
  • Terry Bergstrom, M.D.
  • Vince Cimmino, M.D.
  • Edward Domino, M.D.
  • Thomas Gelehrter, M.D.
  • Mary Hernandez, M.D.
  • John McGillicuddy, M.D.
  • Sumer Pek, M.D.
  • Ray Ruddon, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Thomas Shope, M.D.
  • Richard Swartz, M.D.
  • Andrew Zweifler, M.D.
  • To be named, Program Administrator

Contact Us

The Office of Faculty Development recently celebrated the retirement of dedicated employee Karen Travis. For information on the Emeritus Faculty Program, please contact the Faculty Development main office at 734-615-3101.