Medical School Sabbaticals

Sabbatical leaves of absence may be granted to provide the faculty member an opportunity for an intensive program of research and/or study, thus enhancing his or her effectiveness to the University as a teacher and scholar. Faculty on the instructional track who have achieved tenure are eligible for a sabbatical leave upon completion of their sixth year on the instructional track.  The calculation for the sixth year begins with their appointment as Assistant Professor but they are not eligible until they have been appointed as Associate Professor, with tenure.  The granting of a sabbatical leave is at the discretion of the Chair of the department.  It is not guaranteed, if the Chair deems the faculty member’s leave is detrimental to the department they do not have to grant the request.

Example of Calculation of Eligibility for Promoted Faculty

Dr. Jane Doe was appointed as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan on July 1, 2011.  She was promoted to Associate Professor, with tenure, on September 1, 2017.  Dr. Doe became eligible for a sabbatical leave on September 2, 2017. 

If a faculty member is appointed to a tenured position, they become eligible for a sabbatical leave after six years of service.

Example of Calculation of Eligibility for Newly Appointed Faculty

Dr. John Deere was appointed as Associate Professor, with tenure, in the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, on April 1, 2012.  He is eligible for a sabbatical leave on April 2, 2018.

After a faculty member completes a sabbatical leave they are not eligible for another leave until six years have passed.

Example of Subsequent Sabbatical Leave

Dr. Mary Smith completed her sabbatical leave on March 31, 2017.  She will not be eligible for another sabbatical leave until April 1, 2023.


Sabbatical leaves can be anywhere from three months to one year.  The can be intermittent and do not have to be continuous.

Example of Intermittent Sabbatical Leave

Dr. Indiana Jones took a six-month sabbatical leave in two month increments using the following schedule:  August 1, 2016 – September 30, 2016, January 2017 – February 28, 2017, and April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017. 

Example of Correct Time frame Sabbatical Leave

Dr. Hermione Granger requested a twelve-month sabbatical leave from May 1, 2017 through April 30, 2017.

Provost Guidelines

According to SPG 201.30-2, Sabbatical leaves are paid at full academic salary if the leave is for six months or less.  Sabbatical leaves greater than six months to one year are at half pay.  Additional details are available in the SPG.

While on sabbatical leave, the faculty member cannot receive compensation greater than their normal salary.

How to Apply for a Sabbatical

Sabbatical requests are due in the Office of Faculty Affairs (OFA) by January 15th.  Faculty Affairs is required to submit all requests to Academic Human Resources by March 1st.  All requests must be approved by the department Chair(s) and the EVPMA before going to the Provost Office for the final approval. 

The faculty member must provide a detailed plan for the sabbatical leave, the purpose of the leave, where the leave will take place, the timeframe and who will be covering their teaching and clinical duties while they are gone.  If there is grant funding provided, they must ensure their funding agency allows for the leave.  This information can all be conveyed through a letter to their chair. 

  • Form HR36620 – Request for sabbatical leave must be completed and signed by the faculty member and the chair prior to submitting to OFA. An attachment is allowed in place of adding a description of the leave on the form.
  • CV – A current copy of the faculty member’s CV should be attached to the request and completed form HR36620.
  • Chair’s Letter – the Chair should attach a letter approving the leave.

Submit to OFA utilizing the Customer Service Portal

Sabbatical requests are finalized at the March Regents meeting.  Academic HR sends a letter of approval to the faculty member, the Chair, and the EVPMA.